Worst Pounded Yam Experience

This is not the conventional first post you expected. Heck! This is not the first post I planned to have, but I have decided to document my food exploits here in Uyo, so here goes.

On the 23rd of February,  I had the worst Pounded yam I have ever had in my life.

First of all, I doubt that you know that I have been on the search for a pounded yam place in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, and I have been eating a lot of pounded yam, but this one has marred me.

We all know the proper pounded yam feel we expect in our mouths. The slippers chewy feel, the sweetness of the yam, and the soup together in a mouthful and how can I leave out the spotless white appearance. Well, to cut the long story short, I had none of that.

The pounded yam was white alright, but when it came closer, I saw that there were white spots in the pounded yam. I had heard stories about what people do to pounded yam, but I
didn’t think they were true. This was one of the stories I had heard. The white spots I saw in the pounded yam were not seeds created by improper pounding, neither were they lumps created by wrongly turning the poundo flour. It was garri. White garri.

I was eating a combination of pounded yam and eba. This is the saddest thing that has happened to me since I relocated to Uyo. I left Oron Road, to go to Ikot Ekpene road, only to eat eba and pounded yam. I am scarred for life.

I hope the next place does not make me give up my quest for amazing pounded yam.

Till then remain Safe and Fit.

Leave a Reply

