Pineapple Upside Down Cake 


I​ remember the first time I heard of a pineapple upside down cake, I was in junior secondary school. It was a classmate that was talking about it. As he was rambling on and on, I wondered how this would look, and how it would work, and how it would taste. 

Well, years into the future, I came across this recipe, and I just couldn’t let this pass me by. It’s such a beautiful cake that’s easy to make and delicious to eat. I love the bright colors  the cake projects, because of the yellow pineapples, and usually red cherries, but I have come across some with pecans. Well, I made mine with, guess what? COCONUTS!!!! Yes. I love coconuts a little too much. Perhaps I am addicted to them. But they’re so perfect. So crunchy and juicy. Sort of like the perfect apple, but better.  
I love the combination of both flavors; the coconuts, and the pineapples. 

This cake Is usually served warm, and with a large dollop of whipped cream on the side. It’s a wonderful combination of cake, warm pineapple slices, grated coconuts and caramel. It’s a delicious cake that could be used as a Christmas dinner dessert. It looks so exotic and easy to make. 

If you’re using a fresh pineapple, and not a canned one, remember to remover the pith, and slice thinly. I forgot to take mine out, and it made it quite difficult to slice,but my second attempt, I remembered to take out the pith, as difficult as that task was, I did it , and I loved the end result. 

It’s a caramel base, layered with thinly sliced pineapples, and topped with a vanilla cake recipe, all baked together until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. But as is the cheapito norm, I had to eliminate a certain cost, as little and insignificant as it may seem, it made the cake more fabulous! I made my own coconut milk!

Well, my dear reader, I have decided to share this wonderful recipe with you because that’s what good friends do. They share. Also, this is the season of Christmas, the season of love and sharing, and food! And if you’re new to baking, this is really easy. 

Ingredients:

Pineapple rings, and halves 

210g All Purpose flour.

135g Granulated sugar 

150g Unsalted Butter

2 large Eggs 
1/4 teaspoons  baking  soda 
1 1/5 teaspoons Baking powder 

160ml Coconut milk

40g freshly Grated coconut 

50g light brown sugar. 

Process. 

**Preheat your oven to 170C**

1. Butter a 9″ pan all round. 

2. Sprinkle the brown sugar all over the buttered pan. 
3. Place the pineapple rings in the pan. Starting from the centre. Place the halves in the sides of the pan. 
4. Generously sprinkle the coconuts around the entire pan. Set the pan aside. 
5. Sift together the baking soda, baking powder, and flour. 

6. Beat the butter until light and fluffy. 

7. Slowly add the sugar, and beat on high until it’s well incorporated. 
8. Add the eggs one after the other, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition. 

9. Gradually add in the flour to your mixture. 
10.  Finally add the milk to your batter. Be careful not to over mix your batter. 
11. Once the batter is ready, pour into your repaired pineapple pan, and bake for about 30-45 minutes until a skewer inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. 
12. Allow to the cake to cool for a bit, and then flip it. There you have it! A pineapple upside down cake. Serve warm or cold, with a large serving of whipped cream.

Hopefully, th​ere would be some left for a picture! 

I would love to hear from you. 

Let me how it turned out.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

