Potato Pancakes

It started out like every other day, with me tossing and turning in bed. The struggle to drag myself out of bed is a battle I fight everyday. As I lay there thinking to myself ‘do I really need this job?’, my stomach growled, and I knew that the battle had been lost. I was going to have to get something to eat before heading out to work. I fantasized about potato waffles, and baked beans with some bacon, but swiftly, that desire was turned around and I started craving hash browns! Little did I know what was in store for me.

Hash browns are similar to potato pancakes. The difference is that potato pancakes are more flexible than hash browns. It was when I started to think about adding some eggs to hash browns that I discovered potato pancakes.

I was so excited. After watching about 1 million YouTube videos, I  was well equipped with enough knowledge to make my own pancakes, and I ventured into the kitchen.

I used about 6 large potatoes. Here’s the average size of each.

The potatoes have to be peeled, grated and soaked in some cold water for a little while. In the time that i had to wait, I prepared other ingredients, like the ginger, onions and garlic.

You really can use whatever spices you deem fit. So even though I’ll list the ones I used here, be flexible and get creative.

I’m just going to say this: grating an onion involves a lot of tears. If you can’t handle it, just chop up your onions. I decided to use fresh ingredients and not powdered, because where I live, they’re readily available, and I happen to have a lot of them in the kitchen. But if you don’t have those, use whatever you have handy.

Ingredients.
Grated potatoes
1 tablespoon grated ginger.
One chopped spring onion
A small grated onion
2 cloves of garlic(crushed)
1/4 green pepper (chopped)
2 tablespoons of flour
2 tablespoons of cornflour ( or cornstarch)
Cilantro  powder (aka coriander)
Black pepper
Cold water.
Oil for frying.

Process.
1. Soak the potatoes in the bowl of cold water for 5 to 10 minutes.
2. With a cheese cloth, squeeze out as much water as you can from the grated potatoes.
3. Add the spices, flour, eggs, and onions, and mix thoroughly.
4. Over medium heat,  heat about 1/4 inch of oil in a frying pan. Place the potato mix in spoonfuls in the frying pan. Flatten with a spoon or spatula. It should be thin and crispy at the edges.
5. Allow to fry until golden brown on one side, before flipping. If it browns too quickly,  reduce the heat.
6. When both sides are a nice shade of brown, remove from heat and place on a paper towel to drain out excess oil.
7. Serve hot!

I had mine with a sweet chili sauce and some fresh, sliced tomatoes.
How would you like to have yours?

I would love to hear from you. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jide says:

    Will definitely have to try this. It seems like an adventurous breakfast
    And can you blend the onions, garlic and ginger instead of grating

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unekwu says:

      Hi Jide!
      Blending would involve additional water, which is what we are trying to avoid by squeezing the grated potatoes. I would suggest pounding them all together.

      Like

  2. Blessing Asokomeh says:

    I totally looooove this one and guess what… I got a first hand taste of it and trust me it was goooooooood(not exaggerating) plus another thing I like about it…. the serving plates, know why???? 😉😂well she knows so I don’t have to say it here… But bottom line is this is my favourite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

